This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Hunt Award Nomination
Share |

2019 Hunt SMA Sustained Outstanding Service Award

See Past Winners Here


Nominations for the 2019 Hunt SMA Sustained Outstanding Service Award are due by May 30, 2019

SMA’s Mission Statement “We create value for our members, organizations, and society through professional development, high-impact scholarship and teaching, engaging programs, and deliberate, socially responsible acts. We do this while maintaining a sense of community that involves nurturing members, building collaborations, enhancing life-long friendships, and making a difference with our activities.”

In keeping with SMA’s mission, tradition, and Jerry Hunt’s legacy, the 2018 James G. (Jerry) Hunt Sustained Outstanding Service Award (SOSA) seeks to recognize an individual who has provided continued outstanding service to SMA. This honor is awarded based upon: (1) magnitude/impact of the nominee’s contributions to SMA, (2) variety of contributions to SMA, and (3) length of service to SMA.

The Hunt Award recognizes individuals who have consistently helped SMA reach its goals and mission over a period of years. The individuals recognized must have made important, sustained, and current contributions to SMA, including, but not limited to, elected office (e.g., board member, treasurer, secretary), appointed position (e.g., track chairs, committees) and volunteer service (e.g., paper reviewers, session chairs and discussants) as well as extraordinary contributions to SMA (e.g., local arrangements, financial contributions). The winner of this award should be either active or recently active in the Southern Management Association. The award winner will be recognized at the 2018 SMA meeting. A notice with the winner's photo and contributions will be featured on the SMA webpage.

Previous winners of this prestigious award include:
2003 – Jerry Hunt, Texas Tech
2004 – Art Bedeian, LSU
2005 – David Van Fleet, ASU West
2006 – Bob Ford, UCF
2007 – Jack Duncan, UAB
2008 - Pam Perrewé, Florida State
2009 - Chet Schriesheim, University of Miami 
2010 - K. Michele (Micki) Kacmar, University of Alabama
2011 – Geralyn Franklin, Stephen F. Austin State University
2012 – Mark Martinko, University of Queensland

2013 - Kevin Mossholder, Auburn University

2014 – Mark Gavin, West Virginia University

2015 – Bob Greer, Texas Christian University

2016 – Archie Carroll, University of Georgia

2017 – William L. Gardner, Texas Tech University

2018 – Terri A. Scandura, University of Miami


Nominations will be accepted via email. An acknowledgment of receipt of the nomination will be sent to the primary nominator. Self-nominations are also accepted. All nominees must be SMA members and the award winner must accept the honor in person at the 2019 SMA Annual Conference. Nomination materials must include: (1) a list of the nominee's SMA activities and the dates in which they occurred and (2) three letters in support of nomination.

Nominations must be received on or before May 30, 2019.

Email nominations should be sent to Terri Scandura at

Postal mail nominations should be sent to:

Terri A. Scandura

Miami Business School

417B Jenkins Building

5250 University Drive

University of Miami

Coral Gables, FL 33134

Sponsors of the 2019 SMA Meeting

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal